PUTTING DOWN ROOTS

I‘ve now successfully transplanted myself from London to Norfolk and am taking stock of my new surroundings and being mindful of letting my roots help me to ground and settle into my new home. Oh my goodness! Moving is a heady business and grounding becomes extremely difficult when you’re living in your head, making mental lists of things to do and running around tying up loose ends! It’s also immensely tiring, and when you’re exhausted, you’re less likely to be thinking straight, and you’re certainly not centred!!

But all things must pass as we know.  And I’m pleased to report that I’ve now shifted gear from the frenetic pace before the move and the busyness of unpacking endless cardboard boxes which followed and have, thankfully, eased into a quieter and more measured pace.  The air is good up here, the people are friendly and helpful and although I’m still living in a city, the way of life is more leisurely.  I’m no longer in the midst of that tense buzz that hummed away in the background of our capital city, which is a relief. Instead, at the bottom of my street, the river flows silently past and houseboats rock gently on their moorings alongside the road.  The occasional swan sails past majestically; cobbled and paved side streets lead one away from the main thoroughfares  and  into a maze of lanes and streets which are filled with shops.  And there seems to be a church on almost every corner! In some ways it reminds me of other cathedral cities I’ve known like York or Canterbury, but at the same time, something here feels unexpectedly continental as well, but I can’t quite put my finger on why.  It’s a strange and wonderful mix –  and I’m loving it!

So, I’ve landed and I’m putting down roots.  It feels good to make contact with the earth of East Anglia and I long to get into the habit of walking alongside the river bank every now and again and taking trips to some of those many little towns and villages  closer to the sea, none of which are actually very far way. It will come…….

All this change has had some interesting effects, I find.  I’ve been shaken out of my old routines and forced to explore new ones, find different ways of doing things – or even NOT doing certain things at all! In some ways I feel as if I’ve been put inside one of those little toys which are round and bubble-like and filled with water, and inside there’s a miniature cottage or something similar. Then, when you shake up the toy, you stir up lots of white flakes which fall like snow around the little house inside the bubble. I had one as a child, and I used to love shaking it up and watching the snow flakes flying around inside the globe like a small-scale blizzard.

Well, I’ve been in the blizzard (!) but the snow has now settled.  I’ve been shaken up and stirred and am all the better for it!!!  Everything feels fresh and new and I’m looking at  myself wondering why, as human beings, we tend to be so resistant to change when often it’s the best possible thing for us?

A change is as good as a rest, they say. How true! Unlocking those inner gates to change lets the mind open, accept and allow new thoughts, attitudes, relationships and connections to begin.  Re-locating to a new place, you put down roots so that you may continue to grow and flourish.

It’s good to remember that!

One door closes and another opens. It’s good to trust the unfolding process and just wait and see how things turn out when you may feel ‘like a stranger in a strange land’. . Never forget that we live in a benevolent Universe that ultimately wants to give us all the things we need.  So keeping focussed on the positive aspects one’s trying to manifest is vital. In times of change, stay optimistic, have faith in the process and allow yourself to believe that you’re worth every good thing that can happen.  You deserve it!!

About energyharmonix

Energy Therapist, Reiki Master/Practitioner, EFT Master Practitioner, Writer, Member of the UK Reiki Federation, Member of the Guild of Energists (GOE)
This entry was posted in Energy Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

