MOVING

As I write I am surrounded by tell-tale signs of moving house.  There’s things in black plastic bags which are waiting to go to the charity shop.  Suitcases are getting filling up with clothes, shoes and the contents of my drawers and the shelves in my wardrobe. Flat-packed brown cardboard boxes await being pulled into square shapes and filled with bubble-wrapped items. There’s a general and growing sense of disorder around me which I’ve now given up trying to control.

I am moving home and I’m packing up 20 years of my life and memories and am about to transplant myself to another part of the country. It’s a process which is often fraught and exhausting. (After all, it’s number three on the list of the most stressful things!)   But hey! Thank goodness it’s not anything I’ll have to do again any time soon!

There’s nothing like upheaval for amplifying one’s awareness about how we respond to things. As I go through drawers and cupboards, sifting through what seems to be a ridiculously large accumulation of items and possessions, memories and reflections rise to the surface of my consciousness. Certain items are associated with particular times and/or particular people and quite suddenly I can be flooded by feelings about them all.  More poignant still are old photos recording holidays, times past, and friends and family – some of whom have passed on.

As we journey through life, we are constantly creating or breaking energetic links with people, places and things all of which can tie us to the past or to the familiarity of what we know.  And moving home intensifies this because the action of packing up and relocating tends to tear you out of your comfort zone.

In any situation of change, it’s important to keep making contact with that stillness within and which emanates from the heart.  Making endless lists of things to do is guaranteed to keep most people firmly stuck in their heads (me included!). So using techniques to keep grounded and taking time to pause and be still is of the utmost importance in order to maintain some balance. One of the easiest ways of doing this is to use the simple technique of placing the hands over the heart, bringing the awareness there and simply thinking that you are breathing in and out through your heart and being aware of your breath as you do so. You can say a little mantra to yourself as you do this like:

“I am breathing in through my heart” on the in-breath. And then:

“I am breathing out though my heart” on the out-breath.

Keep doing this for 5-10 minutes and notice how your racing mind begins to slow down, feel your body relaxing and enjoy the sense of calm and spaciousness that this exercise can bring.

All change is an opportunity to let go of some of the ties that bind and the resistance to embracing the new. Surrendering to change and letting go helps us towards expansion and new horizons. It’s a part of creating our future……..

About energyharmonix

Energy Therapist, Reiki Master/Practitioner, EFT Master Practitioner, Writer, Member of the UK Reiki Federation, Member of the Guild of Energists (GOE)
This entry was posted in Energy Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

