CH-CH-CH-CH -CHANGES

Over the last few months I’ve been slowly working my way through my flat throwing out stuff I don’t need or donating things to charity shops. It’s all part of getting ready to move house and the huge transition I’m going to make when I finally leave London and migrate to the land of the North Folk (Norfolk).

But it’s also time to let go of a lot more than just some of my possessions.. ….

I am getting ready to leave a home that’s been the hub of my Universe for the last 20 years. It’s a place that’s been a catalyst for change from the moment I first moved in here.  For it was in this flat, that I made a major change of direction in my working life.  It was here that I finally let go of my dwindling acting career and decided to give my focus and energy instead to what had before been occasional work as an alternative therapist. And the flat became not only my home, but my working space and my sanctuary.

These were big changes and transformations. But as you know, I’ve been trying for the past year to take yet another leap into the unknown.

“I watch the ripples change their size, but never leave the stream of warm impermanence” wrote the legendry David Bowie in his song “Changes”. I know that feeling.  The process of selling my flat and buying another property has been unpleasantly protracted and although I’ve had a buyer since last August, there have been interminable glitches and obstacles and endless uncertainty about whether the process would progress to its natural conclusion or fall through completely. So I’ve become familiar with ‘watching the ripples change their size’ and how easily one can remain in a ‘stream of warm impermanence’,  lulled by a desire to stay within one’s comfort zone – however uncomfortable that may be!

Like most people, I don’ t find change easy and along with other folk I’m often tempted to maintain the status quo rather than undergo alterations to life-style and places which are new and unfamiliar. Periods of big change can feel scary, especially when we know we’ve got to find our way through the shadowy world of uncertainty and the unknown.

But equally, we can’t ignore that fact that life is always full of uncertainties!  It’s  packed with challenges, twists and turns. So somehow, we have to learn to accept change because it’s a fundamental part of living.  Change is the only constant in life.  It’s part of our growth and how we respond to it is most definitely a large part of what life is all about.

Our experiences with change mould us into who we are, inform our beliefs and become the foundation of the road we ultimately travel.  We never know when we set out in life exactly where we’ll end up even though we may be aiming for a particular goal or destination. But it’s OK not to know, because when you don’t know, you’ve got an open mind!  This gives you a greater ability to be flexible and a desire to be curious.  It can also give you the possibility of letting go of judgement which can then enable you to develop greater understanding and compassion.

The trick to coping with change is therefore learning to TRUST! And staying in the present! For if you can be grounded in present moment awareness without a jumble of thoughts about the past or the future running through that stream of consciousness which is your mind, coping with change and uncertainty and new challenges becomes easier. We have to acquire the ability to let things unfold and try to learn the art of not having rigid attachments to outcomes (which is where so many of us cause ourselves even more problems and difficulties). By developing a “willingness to step into the unknown, the field of all possibilities, we surrender ourselves to the creative mind that orchestrates the dance of the Universe”. (Deepak Chopra).

Ultimately, change is the gateway to the field of all possibilities. How good is that? By learning to trust the process of change, we find that, amazingly, all kinds of things start falling into place. So if change and uncertainty are issues  which are dominating your life right now, try reminding yourself that you’re being given the a chance to step into that field of infinite opportunity, which in turn will offer you the possibility of having the freedom to create whatever you want.

Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. 

Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.

Begin it now

From “A Course in Miracles”

About energyharmonix

Energy Therapist, Reiki Master/Practitioner, EFT Master Practitioner, Writer, Member of the UK Reiki Federation, Member of the Guild of Energists (GOE)
This entry was posted in Energy Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

