FIND SOMETHING TO LOVE

Those of you who read my February Blog (in which I told you I was planning to sell my flat and move to Norwich) won’t be surprised to learn that I’m currently experiencing the roller-coaster effects of buying and selling properties at the moment. And boy –  am I glad I’ve got some useful stress relieving tools at my disposal!

When I bought the flat that I live in at present, I was a first time buyer and didn’t have to deal with the complexities of buying AND selling. Of course, I’d always heard that this process was supposed to be one of the most stressful things that we humans can experience – and now I’m finding it out first hand! The frustration, the disappointment, and the overall not-knowing of what is happening from one day to the next is guaranteed to take you out of your comfort zone!

I’ve not long come back from a lightning trip to Norwich where I looked at a number of properties in a very short time and fell madly in love with one of them. Oh! How the heart strings were pulled! Goodness how quickly my imagination conjured up images of me happily ensconced in that pretty little house and leading an idyllic life.  And Oh my! how important it is to sleep on making decisions because twice now, I’ve woken up in the morning with an extraordinarily clear certainty of what I should do which was quite different from how I had originally thought I should act!

Nobody likes being out of their comfort zone because it feels scary and uncomfortable and you have little chance of controlling things in the way you might do ordinarily. At the moment, I am constantly being led into brand new territory about which, mostly, I feel a complete ignoramus – legalities for a start! At times I’ve not been at all sure what I’m doing, but have tried to stay with my inner guidance and trust that the Universe knows what’s best for me and will bring me to the right place at the right time. And I can’t help noticing that it’s all such a good lesson in how life should be lived anyway – i.e. from moment to moment! But it is stressful, so…. I’m softening the knots of anxiety that well up with EmoTrance, tapping away the stress with EFT and soothing and re-balancing my energy with Reiki whenever possible.

One of the strategies I’ve been using regularly is a technique that I learnt on my EmoTrance (also known as EMO) Master Practitioner Training, and it made me think how good it would be to share it with you. Even though you may be experiencing different things from me at the moment, discovering another technique to help one cope with the pressure of challenges can never go amiss! We can never go wrong with any technique that brings the body into a state of relaxation and contentment. When we do this, our whole biology changes, helping body and mind to recover from daily stresses and strains which thereby enables our natural healing abilities to be stimulated.

You can do this technique at any time during the day when you feel the need.

This is how you do it:

1. Take a moment to acknowledge that you’re feeling disturbed, overwhelmed, depressed or some other depleting or negative emotion and measure it on a scale of 0 – 10. 0 = not feeling any distress at all and 10 = feeling this feeling very intensely.

2.Make a mental note of your score. (When you do Emo and EFT work, it’s always important to take a ‘before and after’ reading because it helps you to see any improvements and tells you whether you need to repeat the exercise so you can get the score lower and feel better still!!)

3.Now focus on finding something to love. Bring to mind your feelings of love, warmth or appreciation for a person a pet or something you truly care about.  Notice how the feelings around your heart soften and melt as you do this. Allow this feeling to soak into you and spread throughout your entire body

4.Breathe deeply and if you wish, move your body in response to these sensations.

5.Allow those feelings of love to grow and expand and course through your body. Allow yourself to love more and let your heart go out to that which you love.

ALLOW YOURSELF TO BE MOVED!

Then :

  • Be aware of how your body feels and what has changed
  • Notice the effect that “loving” has had on your body
  • Be aware of how your mind and your thinking has changed.
  • Observe what effect this has had on your spirit
  • Keep checking on your scores and keep doing the exercise till you are filled with feelings of love and contentment and your stress levels have dropped significantly (aim for a zero)

See how easy it is to make yourself feel better on every level when you find something to love!

 

About energyharmonix

Energy Therapist, Reiki Master/Practitioner, EFT Master Practitioner, Writer, Member of the UK Reiki Federation, Member of the Guild of Energists (GOE)
This entry was posted in Energy Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

