LOVING KINDNESS

Sitting this morning doing my meditation, I had a brief experience of soft, warm, toasty, utterly loving and gentle energy filling every part of me. It seemed as though for a short while, I was enveloped in a benign embrace which instantly allowed me to still and come to centre. And in that place, I could be totally present and just BE!

I thought of this sensation as “Christmas Energy” because in my imagination, I could almost smell the cinnamon and cloves, and the oranges and tangerines in the atmosphere at the time. It was only fleeting, but it was heart-warming and delicious.

Later in the day, I mused upon the whole experience and came to the conclusion that what I had felt was pure love. It pervaded me so much that for a moment, I BECAME love, and I loved everything and everyone and I also loved myself without any ifs or buts. I would have liked it to remain with me for the full time I meditated, but it wasn’t to be.

It was a wonderful feeling, but how unusual is this? Well, I consider myself to be a loving person, but to be filled with that over-flowing sense of love isn’t a daily occurrence! Like everybody else, I can get pulled off into worldly or personal pre-occupations  where that sense of expansive stillness and peace doesn’t exist and there’s been a bit too much of that of late – you know…the economy, the planet, the cost of heating bills, the weather, the scramble to get Christmas sorted and other challenges of life!

As I write now, when I think about what I felt this morning in that meditation, I can bring it back to a degree and re-experience it. I’m so grateful for that. And you know what? When I remember it now, it brings to mind that wonderful Buddhist meditation called Loving Kindness where you repeat four lines of a mantra to yourself and it helps you to grow in love, kindness, acceptance and non-judgement towards yourself and all others.

Last month I was saying how Christmas can be the portal for giving warmth, compassion and open-heartedness to all.  It’s also important to give it to OURSELVES for everything starts from within! If you can do it for yourself, then you can REALLY do it for someone else. And there are plenty of people around who need it. Think of the terrible civil war in Syria, or the conflicts in other parts of the world. Think of the poverty and famine that we still have in this 21st century, and the judgement and racial discrimination that exists. Think also of that poor, devastated community in Connecticut grieving for the massacre of children and teachers at Sandy Creek School.

So if you’d like to come together within yourself and start generating this sense of compassion and love, this is what you do.

Prepare yourself for meditation –make sure you’re going to be undisturbed,  get the seating right, be warm, be comfortable, light joss sticks, play some suitable music if you wish, and then start repeating these four lines in your mind :                                                                               

May I be filled with loving kindness

May I be well

May I be peaceful and at ease

May I be happy

Keep repeating these lines over and over again for as long as you can, and then, when you’ve finished,  just move into a few moments of peaceful reflection and  notice how you feeling.  Practice this regularly over several weeks for good effect. Enjoy giving loving kindness to yourself.

Then, when it feels right, you might like to beam all that loving kindness out towards the Earth and all its inhabitants. Change the words when you do this, and instead say the following lines:

May all be filled with loving kindness

May all be well

May all be peaceful and at ease

May all be happy.

This is a lovely thing to do and will take you to a place of great peace and serenity.

About energyharmonix

Energy Therapist, Reiki Master/Practitioner, EFT Master Practitioner, Writer, Member of the UK Reiki Federation, Member of the Guild of Energists (GOE)
This entry was posted in Energy Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LOVING KINDNESS

  1. toyinligali says:

    This meditation was introduced to me by Sally in 2011 and must say it has helped and improved all areas of my life and the people around me….thank you Sally and more Blessings to you. Regards Toyin

Leave a Reply

